TODAY‘S HOURS: 10am to 5pm


April 13 – May 22, 2021 | virtual awards ceremony TBA

A diverse array of media as well as artistic styles fills the second-floor galleries with color, life and originality — an extraordinary opportunity for area high school art students to gain experience in the actual process of having their artwork exhibited in a professional setting.

This year, professional artist and educator Yvette L. Cummings will judge the art. Cummings received her MFA at the University of Cincinnati’s School of Design, Art, Architecture and Planning before teaching art at the University of South Carolina, where she was awarded Stephen J. Dalton Teacher of the Year in 2011. Cummings is currently a Teaching Associate at Coastal Carolina University in Conway, SC. Her paintings and installations have been exhibited throughout the south and midwest. Notably in 2013, Cummings collaborated with fellow artist – and husband – James Arendt to create their socially engaging installation Righting Itself at Free City Public Arts Festival, Flint Public Arts Project: Chevy in the Hole. In 2016, Cummings was the recipient of the 701 Contemporary Center for Arts Prize for South Carolina Artists under 40. And in 2019, she was one of 65 artists chosen for The Mint Museum’s Coined in the South exhibition. She currently resides in Conway, SC, where she devotes her time to her studio work, teaching and family.

Generously sponsored by Sandy Hubbard and Tom Logan +

Participating artists/students:

Academy for Arts,
Science + Technology

Gavin Alford,
2nd Place, 3D

Elizabeth Batten,
3rd Place, 2D

Sam Bolin

Keegan Brown,
Rising Star

Victoria Buchegger,
Honorable Mention, 2D

Brady Carney

Kayla DeBrunner

Veronica Graham

Savannah Henderson

Ava Hussey

Sidnee Hutchinson

Isabella Knapp

Matthew McKeel-Fergie

Zoe Miller

Jenna Monroe,
1st Place, 3D

Charlotte Page

Lakelyn Phillips

Jasmine Rohde

Xara Saldarriaga,
Beth Eakins Memorial
Award [Judge’s Choice]

Brianna Sebastian-

Van Tran

Carolina Forest High School

Elizabeth Dawson,
Best in Show

Jina Manfrellotti

Tucker Richardson

Annamarie Salviejo,
Honorable Mention, 2D

Ann-Marie Donovan

Emily Harris

Taylor Hein

Janyna Root,
Honorable Mention, 3D

Lindsay Thomson,
Honorable Mention, 2D

Conway High School

Christopher Dewitt,
1st Place, 2D

Mary Sparks

The Georgetown School
of Arts + Sciences

Sagel Springs

Lowcountry Preparatory School

Cory Appleton

Manny Marcantoni

Bella Paris

Thomas Prosser,
3rd Place, 3D

Cole Williams

Claire Winthington

Myrtle Beach High

Carlin Creel

Chelsea Desantis

Sergio Granados

Alexandra Hamilton

Karina Mesquite

Ashle Ramirez

Elizabeth Shelburne

Alison Velasques

Lia Yekuel

North Myrtle Beach
High School

Devin Gomez

Emmalee Ritter

Oak Street Academy

Luke Bleyer

Vanessa Palisin

Noah Shroff

Pathway for Scholars

Gabbi Smith

Socastee High School

Raina Andrews

Lindsey Beam

Sarah Blevins

Madelyn Boggs

Kyla Burke,
2nd Place, 2D

Jada Chestnut,
Honorable Mention, 3D

Shannon Gerbert

Kloe Gregory

Jennifer Herrera

Ericca Hyatt

Jaxson Langrehr

Lauren Rose

Josiah Spires

Nathaniel Turner

St. James High School

Rickey Barnes

Alaina Campbell,
Honorable Mention, 3D

Becca Cleveland

Ciara Fowler

Anisa Quick

Kayla Smith

Kaylee Smith

Hayley Spears

installation shots:

virtual awards presentation:




Myrtle Beach’s Franklin G. Burroughs-Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum strives to be one of the finest visual arts museums in the Carolinas. With 11 galleries that change throughout the year, Myrtle Beach’s only art museum offers exhibitions featuring paintings, textiles, sculpture, photography, video, ceramics, assemblage, collage and more. A visit to the Art Museum’s exhibitions can be enhanced by its lively programming, including artist receptions, tours, lectures, workshops and classes for both adults and children.